CLEAN > CLEAN Network > Interactive Webinars > 6. Human Activities
Share

CLEAN Interactive Webinars for Secondary Level Educators


Human activities are impacting the climate system

February 16, 2012

by Robert K. Kaufmann, Scientist, Boston University
and Elizabeth Youngman, Educator

Human Activities webinar 6 recording (Quicktime MP4 Video 355.9MB Feb27 12)

This interactive webinar is designed to help secondary school teachers teach climate science. The content focus of this session is greenhouse gases and sulfur - keys to climate change, which is part of Principle 6 of the Climate Literacy Principles.

Note: This webinar has already taken place.
Jump down to: Related Resources
source - IPCC 2007

Goal - To examine the role of greenhouse gases and sulfur in climate change, and identify resources from the CLEAN collection that teachers can use to help students understand how human activities–that result in increased emissions of greenhouse gases and sulfur–affect the amount of energy flowing in to and out of the atmosphere, and hence climate change.

Time- 4-6 pm Pacific | 5-7 pm Mountain | 6-8 pm Central | 7-9 pm Eastern

Duration - 2 hours

Format - Blackboard Collaborate platform and teleconference line

Registration- (Note: Registration is now closed) There is no registration fee, but registration is required to save a space. Because space is limited to 15, please be sure you can commit before registering. Registration closes when the spaces fill or one week before the webinar, whichever comes first.

Contact - For questions contact Marian Grogan at TERC (marian_grogan AT terc.edu)

About the Presenters:

Dr. Kaufmann is a professor and Chair of the Department of Geography and Environment at Boston University. His teaching focuses on energy and the environment and his research interests include global climate change, land-use change, the global carbon cycle, world oil markets, and ecological economics. He served as a panel member of the IPCC in 1996-97.

Ms. Youngman is an education consultant and curriculum writer, with 25 years of experience teaching AP Environmental Science, Physical Science and Oceanography to students in grades 7-12. While a teacher, through the Teachers Experiencing Antarctica and the Arctic (TEA) program, Betsy participated in two climate change research expeditions to Summit, Greenland and the South Pole, Antarctica.


Related Resources:

CLEAN resource collection

Other materials (not in collection)




« Previous Page      Next Page »