CLEAN > CLEAN Network > Workshops > Climate Complexity Workshop 2012 > Program
Share

Workshop Program

Technical check - Monday May 7 (optional)

Day 1 - Tuesday May 8

Asynchronous discussion: Introduce yourself to the workshop group

Synchronous session I - Welcome and opening keynote
11:00 - 1:00 Pacific time | 12:00 - 2:00 Mt time | 1:00 - 3:00 Central time | 2:00 - 4:00 Eastern time

Watch the screencast (Quicktime MP4 Video 163.3MB May8 12) of the session.

Welcome and opening presentation
; Elluminate warmup and icebreaker - Karin Kirk, Science Education Resource Center

Keynote presentation: Richard Alley, Penn State University
Still the Biggest Control Knob: Carbon Dioxide in Earth’s Climate History
Click to view
Still the Biggest Control Knob: Carbon Dioxide in Earth's Climate History (PowerPoint 6.6MB May7 12)


Day 2 - Wednesday May 9

Synchronous session II - Tipping Points and Feedbacks in the Climate System
11:00 - 1:00 Pacific time | 12:00 - 2:00 Mt time | 1:00 - 3:00 Central time | 2:00 - 4:00 Eastern time

Watch the screencast (Quicktime MP4 Video 160.5MB May9 12) of the session.
Tour of CLEAN website

Water Vapor Feedback and Global Warming
Click to view
Water Vapor Feedback and Global Warming (PowerPoint 2007 (.pptx) 974kB May9 12)
by Brian Soden, Rosenstiel School of Marine and Atmospheric Science, University of Miami


The Global Carbon Cycle and its Relation to Global Climate
Click to view
The Global Carbon Cycle and its Relation to Global Climate (PowerPoint 3.5MB May9 12)
by David Archer, University of Chicago


Arctic Sea Ice and the Ice-Albedo Feedback
Click to view
Arctic Sea Ice and the Ice-Albedo Feedback (PowerPoint 5.3MB May9 12)
by Harry Stern, University of Washington, Applied Physics Laboratory




Asynchronous discussion: complex topics for our students
Roadcheck evaluation

Day 3 - Thursday May 10


Synchronous session III - Pedagogy for Teaching Complex Science
11:00 - 1:00 Pacific time | 12:00 - 2:00 Mt time | 1:00 - 3:00 Central time | 2:00 - 4:00 Eastern time
Watch the screencast (Quicktime MP4 Video 144.8MB May10 12) of the session
Identifying Misconceptions (PowerPoint 2007 (.pptx) 7.4MB May10 12) - Susan Buhr, CIRES, University of Colorado


Conceptual Change on Climate Change: An Educational Reconstruction of Global Warming (Acrobat (PDF) 3.9MB May10 12) - Kai Niebert, University of Hannover



A Scientific Approach to Achieving Learning in your Courses (PowerPoint 2007 (.pptx) 195kB May10 12) - Leilani Arthurs, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

  • Levels of intellectual behavior - Bloom's taxonomy (1956)
  • Levels of attitudinal behavior - Krathwohl's taxonomy (1973)
    • Affective Domain - this module from On the Cutting Edge, details the affective domain, which includes factors such as student motivation, attitudes, perceptions and values.
  • On the Cutting Edge Course Design module - this site provides some tips on setting learning goals
  • Pedagogy in Action - this site describes the methods, points to the research about its effectiveness, provides hints and tips for using it well and ends with a collection of classroom activities that exemplify the teaching methods
  • SERC Site Guide on Assessment - see resources from across the SERC sites that are related to assessment


Asynchronous discussions: favorite pedagogies and ideas for group project

Synchronous session IV - Web Page Authoring Tutorial (optional)
2:00 - 2:30 Pacific time | 3:00 - 3:30 Mt time | 4:00 - 4:30 Central time | 5:00 - 5:30 Eastern time

This tutorial and demo will guide you through how to make impressive web pages. Topics will include making links, uploading files and images, using images and formatting your page.

You can practice working with this page (you'll need a SERC account).
Another useful link:
Instructions for editing workspaces (you'll need to be logged into your SERC account to view this)

Day 4 - Friday May 11


Synchronous session V - Classroom Examples for Teaching the Climate System
11:00 - 1:00 Pacific time | 12:00 - 2:00 Mt time | 1:00 - 3:00 Central time | 2:00 - 4:00 Eastern time

Watch the screencast (Quicktime MP4 Video 207.1MB May11 12) of the session

Instructions for the group project

Read the detailed instructions for this project
During the break from May 13-15, workshop participants will form small working groups of 2-3 people. Each group will select one of the climate literacy concepts that apply to teaching about interactions between components of the climate system. Groups will work together to do one of the following:
  • Browse the CLEAN collection of educational materials and select a suite of materials that can be used to teach one of the climate literacy concepts. Create a web page that contains the steps needed to teach the principle, describes how each step links together, provides needed materials to segue between the various components, and describes an assessment method that can be used to determine if students have met the goals of the activity. See an example from the 2011 workshop.
  • OR, author an idea for how to teach this concept and create a web page containing a description of the idea. See examples from the 2011 workshop.
During this session we will organize the groups, select topics and provide instructions for completing the project.
(you'll need to be logged in to your SERC account to access these pages)
  • Group 1 - Oceans Jigsaw
  • Group 2 - Active Learning of the Carbon Cycle
  • Group 3 -Comparing Climate Records from Multiple Times or Locations
  • Group 4 - Feedbacks and Tipping Points via Spreadsheet Model
  • Group 5 - What Makes a Car Go? Systems Analogy


Roadcheck evaluation


Break

Team Project: Building Blocks for Climate Literacy

Read the detailed instructions for this project

Day 5 - Tuesday May 15

Synchronous session VI - Activity presentations
10:00 - 11:00 Pacific time | 11:00 - 12:00 Mt time | 12:00 - 1:00 Central time | 1:00 - 2:00 Eastern time


Watch the screencast (Quicktime MP4 Video 97.7MB May15 12) of the session

Presentation of activities for all groups. Each group will have 15 minutes give a show-and-tell of their web page, which includes time for discussion and feedback from the audience.
Instructions for afternoon review and a brief overview of the CLEAN review process.
Asynchronous session - Activity Review Preparation
12:00 - 1:00 Pacific time | 1:00 - 2:00 Mt time | 2:00 - 3:00 Central time | 3:00 - 4:00 Eastern time
Groups read over the activity they will be reviewing - use the discussion thread at the bottom of the page to make comments.

Synchronous session VII - Activity Review
1:00 - 2:00 Pacific time | 2:00 - 3:00 Mt time | 3:00 - 4:00 Central time | 4:00 - 5:00 Eastern time

Instructions for review process

  • The goal of the review session is to have everyone read each others' activity and offer suggestions and feedback that can be used to strengthen the activity.
  • The review period is 2 hours. During the first hour (from 2:00 - 3:00 Central time), read through the activity pages and prepare feedback. Use the discussion thread at the bottom of the page to make comments.
  • Use the CLEAN review form (Microsoft Word 149kB Apr18 11) to guide your feedback. You do not need to complete the form.
  • During the second hour (from 3:00 - 4:00 Central time), call into the phone line for your group.
  • On the phone, each each group spends ~20 minutes discussing each activity.

Day 6 - Wednesday May 16

Activity web pages completed

Synchronous session VIII - Closing Keynote

2:00 - 3:00 Pacific time | 3:00 - 4:00 Mt time | 4:00 - 5:00 Central time | 5:00 - 6:00 Eastern time


Watch the screencast (Quicktime MP4 Video 82.9MB May17 12) of the session
Communicating Climate Science and Debunking Myths with "Sticky Science"
Click to view
Communicating Climate Science and Debunking Myths with "Sticky Science" (PowerPoint 2007 (.pptx) 2.5MB May16 12) by John Cook, author of the Skeptical Science website



End of workshop survey



« Previous Page      Next Page »